Skip to content

Buying guide

Best Portable Power Stations Under $1,000

The sweet spot: roughly 1–2kWh of battery capacity, with a standout pick for outages, camping, fast recharging and more.

Best Portable Power Stations Under $1,000

Quick picks

Amazon prices change constantly: tap the button for today's price.

A summer blackout can turn a full refrigerator into a countdown. At a campsite, it’s the difference between charging phones and bringing a small slice of home comfort. Around the under-$1,000 tier, the strongest options often land near 1kWh: enough capacity for meaningful backup, without jumping to a much larger home battery.

This guide ranks the best fits for different jobs, including outage backup, high-wattage appliances, van and campsite use, and buyers who want a smaller, easier-to-carry unit. You’ll also find a comparison table, realistic runtime math and a clear way to choose by capacity, output and recharge needs.

Our ranking draws on manufacturer-listed capacity, AC output and features, each model’s value label for its size class, and Amazon customer ratings and rating counts. Runtime examples use the standard estimate of watt-hours × 0.85 ÷ device watts; actual results vary with load and operating conditions.

1. BLUETTI AC180: Best overall for backup and camping

The AC180 is the strongest all-rounder here if you want a substantial battery without giving up useful AC output. It stores 1,152 Wh and has 1,800 W rated AC output, with a 2,700 W peak figure in its product title. That combination puts it in range for many everyday essentials and some higher-draw devices. Check the appliance’s running and startup wattage before relying on it; capacity and output answer different questions.

BLUETTI lists nine outlets, app control, solar charging support and a UPS response time of 20 milliseconds. For an outage, that UPS feature may help keep a router or computer from dropping when power changes over. It is not a substitute for checking whether a particular device needs a dedicated, certified backup system. Its 1,152 Wh battery also gives it the largest capacity among our leading picks.

Value for its size class is Excellent value. Amazon buyers rate it 4.5 out of 5 from 1,900 ratings. The manufacturer lists a one-hour AC charge and solar input up to 500 W; confirm the US-specific charging setup and included accessories on the Amazon page. For a fridge, CPAP, or mixed essential loads, estimate runtime from watt-hours and actual watts rather than assuming a whole night or day. See our BLUETTI AC180 review and our home-backup picks.

2. EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic: Best value in the 1kWh class

The Delta 3 Classic earns a high place on capacity, output and the value label. It has 1,024 Wh of storage and 1,800 W AC output, a practical pairing for essential home loads, campsite appliances and remote-work gear. Its capacity is close to the 1kWh mark that makes this tier attractive: large enough to plan around, yet still more manageable than a multi-kilowatt-hour home backup system.

Its value for its size class is Excellent value, and its Amazon rating is 4.7 out of 5 from 1,300 ratings. That rating is one of the strongest in this group, though it reflects buyer feedback rather than a guarantee that every unit or setup will fit your needs. The listed product details identify the model as a 1,024 Wh, 1,800 W AC power station. Keep your choice grounded in those core numbers and the devices you intend to run.

For a rough planning example, a 60 W load would draw about 51 Wh per hour after applying the 0.85 efficiency factor; 1,024 Wh therefore gives an estimated 17 hours at that steady load. Real-world runtime can be shorter, especially with changing loads or inverter overhead. The Delta 3 Classic is a smart pick when value per watt-hour matters more than a long feature checklist. Compare it with the EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic and use our 1,000 Wh runtime guide to size your loads.

3. Anker SOLIX C1000: Best for fast AC recharging

When a short window between outages matters, the C1000 stands out for its stated recharge pace. It holds 1,056 Wh and is rated to reach 80% charge in 43 minutes using AC UltraFast charging, or full charge in 58 minutes. You can select charging speeds in the Anker app. That makes it particularly appealing for a household that can recharge between disruptions, or for a trip where access to an outlet is brief.

Its output features include SurgePad technology rated at 2,400 W, and the manufacturer lists nine ports. Treat the 2,400 W figure as a feature to understand alongside the actual appliance requirements; check both continuous and startup demand for equipment with a motor or compressor. The model’s value label is Good value, and Amazon buyers give it 4.7 out of 5 from 2,100 ratings.

The C1000 is a strong fit for buyers who want a 1kWh-class battery, quick wall charging and a broad set of connections. The product information also describes solar recharging, but solar performance depends on the panel, conditions and setup. Confirm US-compatible accessories and port layout on the Amazon page before ordering. For a closer look, see our Anker SOLIX C1000 review, plus our camping power-station guide for trip-focused alternatives.

4. BLUETTI Elite 100 V2: Best portable 1kWh-class option

The Elite 100 V2 combines a full-size battery with a more transport-focused design. Its capacity is 1,024 Wh, rated AC output is 1,800 W, and BLUETTI lists its weight at 25 pounds. That weight gives buyers a concrete planning point for carrying it between a vehicle, campsite and work area. It is still a substantial battery, but it has a clearer portability case than models whose listed capacity is similar and whose weight is unknown here.

The manufacturer describes 11 ports, instant backup switching during an outage and quiet operation at 30dB. It also lists 70-minute charging with 1,200 W TurboBoost AC input, and a solar charging figure of 1,000 W. Those charging figures depend on compatible equipment and conditions; verify the US version and the setup you plan to use. The model’s value label is Good value. Its Amazon rating is 4.5 out of 5 from 1,800 ratings.

Choose it if you expect to move the station regularly but still want enough capacity for meaningful backup or remote work. Its 1,800 W output also gives it more appliance flexibility than small travel batteries. For CPAP use, calculate the expected draw for your settings and night length, then leave a reserve rather than planning to drain the battery completely. Read our BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 review and compare chemistry choices in our LiFePO4 station guide.

5. OUPES Mega 1: Best for higher AC output and expansion

The Mega 1 is the output-first choice in this roundup. Its 1,024 Wh capacity is paired with 2,000 W rated AC output and a listed 4,500 W surge peak. That is the highest rated AC output among our main picks, which can matter for demanding appliances or tools whose running draw fits within the unit’s limits. Always check both the device’s continuous wattage and its startup surge; the peak figure is not the same as sustained output.

OUPES lists 13 outputs, 1400 W AC charging that reaches 80% in 36 minutes, and expansion to 5,120 Wh with a compatible B2 extra battery. Expansion may appeal to buyers planning a larger backup setup over time. It also adds equipment and setup considerations, so confirm compatibility and the complete system configuration before buying. The Mega 1’s value label is Fair value, and its Amazon rating is 4.5 out of 5 from 1,500 ratings.

This model makes sense for a job-site kit, workshop backup or household that values output and expansion more than the lowest cost per watt-hour. Its 1,024 Wh capacity is still a finite energy reserve: a 500 W load estimates around 1.7 hours using the 0.85 factor, before accounting for changing demand. Review our OUPES Mega 1 review and explore more 2,000 W-class power stations.

6. Other contenders: Jackery, EcoFlow and compact options

The Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 is a polished alternative with 1,024 Wh, 1,500 W AC output and a 3,000 W surge peak. Its listed features include app-managed charging, a 100 W USB-C port and six charging ports. Jackery describes a one-hour emergency charging mode and a slower 1.7-hour mode. Its value label is Premium price; Amazon buyers rate it 4.7 out of 5 from 3,700 ratings. See our Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 review.

For a smaller but still capable option, the EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro has 768 Wh, 800 W rated AC output and an Amazon rating of 4.5 out of 5 from 1,800 ratings. Its value label is Premium price. The manufacturer lists a 70-minute AC recharge and an output feature up to 1,600 W; check device compatibility carefully. The Anker SOLIX C300 is much smaller at 288 Wh and 300 W output, with a 4.6-star rating from 1,900 buyers and a Premium price label. These are portability-first choices, not replacements for a 1kWh outage battery.

The EcoFlow River 2 Max 500 offers 499 Wh and a 4.6-star rating from 1,400 buyers; its value label is Excellent value. The listing describes a 300 W AC outlet and output up to 1,000 W. These smaller units fit lighter loads and shorter trips. Compare the RIVER 2 Pro, the SOLIX C300 and the River 2 Max 500.

Quick comparison: capacity, output and value

Model Capacity Rated AC output Value for size class Amazon rating
BLUETTI AC180 1,152 Wh 1,800 W Excellent value 4.5 / 5, 1,900 ratings
EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic 1,024 Wh 1,800 W Excellent value 4.7 / 5, 1,300 ratings
Anker SOLIX C1000 1,056 Wh Not stated here Good value 4.7 / 5, 2,100 ratings
BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 1,024 Wh 1,800 W Good value 4.5 / 5, 1,800 ratings
OUPES Mega 1 1,024 Wh 2,000 W Fair value 4.5 / 5, 1,500 ratings
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 1,024 Wh 1,500 W Premium price 4.7 / 5, 3,700 ratings

Capacity estimates how much energy is stored; output limits how much power can be drawn at once. For a 100 W device, a 1,024 Wh station estimates about 8.7 hours (1,024 × 0.85 ÷ 100). For a 500 W load, that falls to about 1.7 hours. These are planning estimates, not guaranteed runtimes. Look at the device’s actual draw and allow a margin.

Amazon ratings offer a useful snapshot of buyer sentiment, not a direct measure of fit for your specific setup. To compare more broadly, start with our overall power-station ranking and our capacity sizing guide.

How to choose: match capacity, output and recharge

Start with the devices you need to run, not the biggest number on the product box. Add their running watts to see whether the station’s AC output can support them at the same time. For refrigerators, pumps and other motor-driven equipment, check startup demand too. A station may have enough watt-hours for a long runtime but still be unable to start a load whose surge exceeds its output limit.

Next, estimate energy. Multiply device watts by hours of use, then compare that figure with capacity adjusted by the 0.85 efficiency factor. A 50 W router running for 12 hours uses about 600 Wh at the outlet; a 1,024 Wh station estimates around 870 Wh available under this rule of thumb. Leave reserve for uncertainty, changing loads and devices you may have overlooked.

Then consider recharge. Fast AC charging is useful when grid power returns briefly, while solar support matters for longer trips or extended outages if you have compatible panels and suitable conditions. Check the exact US configuration and accessories before choosing a solar setup. Finally, weigh portability, port selection, backup switching and value for size class. The best choice for a stationary refrigerator may be a poor fit for a campsite you reach on foot. For solar planning, see our solar charging guide; for a complete buying framework, use our power-station buying guide.

Mistakes to avoid—and our final recommendation

Don’t confuse watts with watt-hours. Output is the power available at one moment; capacity is the stored energy that determines how long a load can run. Don’t plan around peak output. Surge ratings are not continuous ratings, and many appliances draw more when starting than while running. Don’t assume a 1kWh station runs a 1kW appliance for an hour. Applying the 0.85 estimate to 1,024 Wh gives roughly 52 minutes at 1,000 W, before real-world variation.

Also avoid choosing by rating alone. A well-rated compact battery may still have too little capacity for a full night of medical equipment or a long outage. Check the intended device’s actual power draw and any manufacturer guidance before using a portable station for medical needs. If you need to cover several days of household loads, compare larger systems and safe generator options rather than expecting a single 1kWh unit to carry the whole home. Read our CPAP and medical-device guide and our blackout checklist.

Our final pick is the BLUETTI AC180 for its 1,152 Wh capacity, 1,800 W output and Excellent value label. The EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic is the value-first alternative, the Anker SOLIX C1000 is the recharge-speed pick, and the OUPES Mega 1 is the output-focused choice. All qualify for this under-$1,000 guide, but prices change—check the current price on Amazon before deciding. For a tighter budget, see our picks under $300.

Every model mentioned, at a glance

Manufacturer specifications and Amazon buyer ratings
Value for its sizeAvailability
BLUETTI AC180
Best overall
8.21,1521,800YesSee listing500See listing4.51,900 ratingsExcellent valueCheck price on Amazon
EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic
7.51,0241,800Not statedSee listingSee listingSee listing4.71,300 ratingsExcellent valueCheck price on Amazon
Anker SOLIX C1000
6.21,056See listingNot statedSee listing600See listing4.72,100 ratingsGood valueCheck price on Amazon
OUPES Mega 1
5.81,0242,000Not stated3500See listing27.84.51,500 ratingsFair valueCheck price on Amazon
BLUETTI Elite 100 V2
Best for camping
6.61,0241,800Not statedSee listing1000254.51,800 ratingsGood valueCheck price on Amazon
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2
5.91,024See listingYes4000See listing254.73,700 ratingsPremium priceCheck price on Amazon
EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro
5.0768800Not statedSee listing22017.24.51,800 ratingsPremium priceCheck price on Amazon
Anker SOLIX C300
Best lightweight
4.5288See listingNot stated3000100See listing4.61,900 ratingsPremium priceCheck price on Amazon
EcoFlow River 2 Max 500
7.9499See listingYesSee listing22013.24.61,400 ratingsExcellent valueCheck price on Amazon

Specifications as stated in the Amazon listing. Missing details: see listing. Scores use specifications and buyer ratings. How we rank.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best portable power station under $1,000?

The BLUETTI AC180 is our best overall pick. It combines 1,152Wh of capacity with 1,800W rated AC output, a 2,700W peak figure, and an Excellent value label for its size class. The EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic is another strong option, with 1,024Wh, 1,800W output, Excellent value and a 4.7-star Amazon rating.

How long can a 1,000Wh power station run a device?

A useful estimate is capacity in watt-hours × 0.85 ÷ device watts. A 1,000Wh station would therefore run a steady 100W load for about 8.5 hours, or a 500W load for about 1.7 hours. These are estimates, not guarantees: actual draw changes, and some devices cycle on and off or need extra power at startup.

Can a portable power station run a refrigerator during a blackout?

It may, if both the refrigerator’s startup demand and its ongoing wattage fit the station’s output and capacity. Check the refrigerator’s power requirements, including compressor startup, and estimate energy over the hours you need. A 1kWh-class unit can support meaningful backup, but runtime varies with the refrigerator, room conditions and how often its compressor runs.

Which pick is best for fast recharging?

The Anker SOLIX C1000 is the clearest fast-recharge choice in this roundup. Anker lists charging to 80% in 43 minutes and full charge in 58 minutes using AC UltraFast charging. The OUPES Mega 1 also has a fast-charge feature, with a listed 36-minute time to 80%. Check compatible charging settings and power sources before relying on those times.

Is a 1kWh power station enough for CPAP use?

It can be enough for some CPAP setups, but runtime depends on the machine’s wattage, therapy settings, humidifier and heated tubing. Use the actual draw for your configuration in the watt-hours × 0.85 ÷ watts estimate, then keep a reserve. For medical equipment, follow the device maker’s guidance and plan a dependable backup rather than relying on an approximate runtime alone.

Should I buy a 1kWh station or a smaller camping power station?

Choose around 1kWh when you want longer runtimes for multiple devices, home essentials or overnight use. A smaller unit such as the 288Wh Anker SOLIX C300 or 499Wh EcoFlow River 2 Max 500 is better suited to lighter loads and shorter trips, and may be easier to transport. Compare the devices you’ll power, their watts and the hours you need.

Shop the models in this guide