Buying guide
What Can a 1,000Wh Power Station Run?
A practical runtime cheat sheet for blackouts, camping, CPAP nights, job sites, and everyday backup power.

Quick picks
Best compact high-output pick
BLUETTI
BLUETTI Elite 100 V2
- 1,024 Wh
- 1,800 W
Good value
Amazon prices change constantly: tap the button for today's price.
A 1,000 Wh power station sits in the useful middle ground: large enough for a refrigerator, CPAP machine, lights, laptops, and phone charging, yet still practical for a campsite, van, or emergency closet. It is not a whole-home battery. A space heater or electric kettle can drain it quickly. A router, laptop, and LED lamp can run through the night.
This guide converts roughly 1,000 Wh of stored energy into realistic runtime estimates. You will see typical device wattages, the 85% usable-energy rule, appliances that exceed 1,800 W, and a ranked roundup of current models near 1kWh. Each use case has a clear pick, so you can match the station to the job rather than shop by capacity alone.
We picked the roundup using manufacturer-listed capacity, output, charging features, battery information, value for its size class, and Amazon ratings. Runtime estimates use the universal calculation of watt-hours multiplied by 0.85, divided by device watts. Check the current price on Amazon before ordering.
The 85% runtime rule: your fast cheat sheet
A power station’s headline capacity is stored energy, not energy delivered to an AC appliance. Inverter losses, battery-management electronics, and conversion overhead reduce the practical figure. For a quick estimate, multiply capacity by 0.85, then divide by the device’s watt draw.
A 1,024 Wh model therefore offers about 870 Wh for AC runtime. At 50 W, that is roughly 17.4 hours. At 100 W, about 8.7 hours. At 500 W, about 1.7 hours. A 1,152 Wh station provides about 979 Wh under the same rule, giving a 100 W load approximately 9.8 hours.
| Device | Typical draw | Approximate runtime from 1,024 Wh |
|---|---|---|
| Phone charger | 10 W | 87 hours |
| LED lamp | 10 W | 87 hours |
| Wi-Fi router | 12 W | 72 hours |
| Laptop | 60 W | 14.5 hours |
| CPAP | 40 W | 21.8 hours |
| Mini refrigerator | 70 W average | 12.4 hours |
| Space heater | 1,500 W | 33 minutes |
Real appliances cycle. A refrigerator compressor may draw more during startup and less once cold. CPAP humidifiers can raise consumption. Treat the table as planning guidance, not a promise.
What can a 1,000Wh station run overnight?
Best pick for overnight essentials: BLUETTI AC180. Its 1,152 Wh capacity gives about 979 Wh through the inverter, while its 1,800 W rated AC output handles demanding individual loads better than lower-output stations. It also offers UPS switching in 20 milliseconds, useful for keeping a router or computer from dropping during an outage. Value for its size class is Excellent, and its Amazon rating is 4.5 out of 5 from 1,900 ratings.
A realistic blackout bundle might include a 12 W router, 10 W LED lamp, 60 W laptop, and 40 W CPAP. Together, that is about 122 W before cycling or charging variation. The AC180’s estimated runtime is about eight hours. Run the router and lamp continuously, then use the laptop and CPAP overnight, and the battery has a credible chance of covering a full night.
For a CPAP-only setup, runtime is much longer: a 40 W average load works out to about 24.5 hours from the AC180. Heated humidification may change that substantially. If your medical equipment has a DC cable, a direct DC connection can avoid some inverter overhead. Confirm compatibility before relying on it during a blackout.
For more medical-device guidance, see our CPAP power station guide.
Best near-1kWh models, ranked
These models all sit close to the 1,000 Wh class, but their strengths differ. Capacity determines energy available; output determines whether the station can start or operate a particular appliance.
| Rank | Model | Capacity | AC output | Value | Amazon rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BLUETTI AC180 | 1,152 Wh | 1,800 W | Excellent | 4.5/5 |
| 2 | Anker SOLIX C1000 | 1,056 Wh | 2,400 W SurgePad | Good | 4.7/5 |
| 3 | BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 | 1,024 Wh | 1,800 W | Good | 4.5/5 |
| 4 | EcoFlow Delta 3 | 1,024 Wh | 1,800 W | Premium | 4.7/5 |
| 5 | EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic | 1,024 Wh | 1,800 W | Excellent | 4.7/5 |
| 6 | OUPES Mega 1 | 1,024 Wh | 2,000 W | Fair | 4.5/5 |
| 7 | Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 | 1,024 Wh | 1,500 W | Premium | 4.7/5 |
| 8 | DJI Power 1000 V2 | 1,024 Wh | Not specified here | Good | 4.3/5 |
For broader buying advice, compare this list with our best portable power stations ranking and the under-$1,000 guide.
Top pick: BLUETTI AC180 for home backup
The AC180 is the strongest all-round choice when a 1,000 Wh-class station must cover both electronics and heavier appliances. Its 1,152 Wh LiFePO4 battery is the largest in this group. The 1,800 W AC output supports most household essentials, while a selectable 2,700 W boost can accommodate some higher-demand devices. It has nine outlets, a five-year warranty, and 0-to-80% charging in 45 minutes.
That output does not make it a long-term heater or cooking battery. A 1,500 W appliance would consume the usable energy in roughly 39 minutes from this capacity. A 100 W load, by contrast, works out to nearly 9.8 hours. The AC180 is best for refrigerators, routers, lights, laptops, and medical equipment used in rotation.
Its UPS function is especially useful during short outages: connect essential electronics and the station can switch to battery power in 20 milliseconds. The 500 W solar input also gives it a practical recharge path for extended outages or off-grid trips. Value for its size class is Excellent, making it the clearest recommendation for a mixed home-and-camping role.
For outage planning, pair this article with our home-backup guide.
Top picks for fast charging and compact power
Anker SOLIX C1000 is the fast-charge choice. Its 1,056 Wh battery reaches 80% in 43 minutes and 100% in 58 minutes using UltraFast AC charging. SurgePad delivers 2,400 W, and nine ports support a broad mix of devices. Anker also lists more than 3,000 battery cycles and a 10-year lifespan. Value for its size class is Good, with a 4.7 out of 5 Amazon rating from 2,100 ratings.
BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 is the compact high-output choice. It combines 1,024 Wh with 1,800 W AC output, 2,700 W lifting power, and 11 ports. The stated 25-pound weight and 17-liter volume make it attractive for campsites, remote work, and van storage. It runs at 30dB and supports a 70-minute full charge using the listed charging options. Value is Good.
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 is the polished app-focused option. It provides 1,024 Wh, 1,500 W AC output, a 3,000 W surge peak, six charging ports, 100 W USB-C, LED lights, and a 30dB silent mode. Its five-year warranty and 4.7 out of 5 rating from 3,700 ratings are notable. Value for its size class is Premium, and its output is below the 1,800 W leaders.
Top picks for high-wattage tools and appliances
OUPES Mega 1 is the high-output pick. It raises the ceiling to 2,000 W continuous output and 4,500 W peak power. Four AC outlets, two 100 W USB-C ports, four USB-A ports, two DC5521 ports, and a car-lighter port create 13 outputs. Its 1,024 Wh battery reaches 80% in 36 minutes with 1,400 W AC input. Value is Fair, and its Amazon rating is 4.5 out of 5 from 1,500 ratings.
EcoFlow Delta 3 is the expansion-focused choice. It delivers 1,024 Wh and 1,800 W AC output, supports 13 appliances simultaneously, and can expand to 5kWh within the Delta ecosystem. Its listed 500 W solar input and 1,500 W AC input support a 56-minute full charge, while X-Boost supports resistive devices requiring more than 2,600 W continuously. Value is Premium, with a 4.7 out of 5 rating from 1,300 ratings.
EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic is the value alternative. It has the same 1,024 Wh capacity and 1,800 W AC output class, plus Excellent value and a 4.7 out of 5 Amazon rating from 1,300 ratings. The Delta 3 offers more detailed expansion and charging features, but the Classic is worth considering when the simpler specification fits your needs.
For heavier equipment, see our 2,000 W-plus roundup.
Which devices exceed 1,800W?
A station rated at 1,800 W can run many household appliances, but several common devices exceed that threshold or approach it closely. Electric dryers, large induction cooktops, full-size space heaters on high, hair dryers on high, and some circular saws can demand more than 1,800 W. A portable air conditioner may have a modest running draw but a higher startup surge. Check the appliance label before choosing a station.
| Device | Typical draw | What it means for a 1,000 Wh station |
|---|---|---|
| Electric kettle | 1,500–3,000 W | May exceed output; drains battery rapidly |
| Space heater | 1,500 W | About 33–39 minutes at 1,024–1,152 Wh |
| Hair dryer | 1,500–2,000 W | Needs sufficient continuous output |
| Microwave | 1,000–1,500 W | Usually workable, but short runtime |
| Portable induction burner | 1,300–1,800 W | Near the limit of smaller models |
The OUPES Mega 1 has the highest continuous rating in this group. The AC180, Elite 100 V2, Delta 3, and Delta 3 Classic sit at 1,800 W. The Jackery’s 1,500 W rating is more restrictive. Surge ratings help with brief motor starts; they do not create extra stored energy. Never assume a peak figure can sustain a continuous load.
How to choose the right 1,000Wh model
Start with the appliance that matters most. For a refrigerator, pump, or tool, compare both running watts and startup surge. For CPAP, networking, phones, and laptops, capacity and efficient low-watt operation matter more than a huge inverter rating.
Next, decide whether you need UPS behavior. A station with a specified transfer time can be more suitable for a router, desktop computer, or home-office setup. For camping, prioritize quiet operation, useful port selection, and manageable size. The Elite 100 V2 lists 25 pounds and 17 liters; the Jackery and Anker emphasize app control and multiple charging ports.
Charging speed matters during a storm. Anker lists 100% AC charging in 58 minutes; OUPES lists 0-to-80% in 36 minutes; BLUETTI AC180 lists a one-hour full charge; EcoFlow Delta 3 lists 56 minutes. Solar capability can extend an outage, but panel compatibility, weather, shade, and cable placement affect results. See our solar-generator guide before building a solar setup.
Finally, compare battery chemistry, cycle claims, warranty, output, and value together. Capacity alone cannot tell you whether a station is the right buy. Our complete buying guide explains the tradeoffs.
Common mistakes to avoid
Mistake one: treating 1,000 Wh as 1,000 Wh at the outlet. Use the 85% rule for a practical first estimate. DC loads may vary, while AC loads pass through an inverter and typically lose more energy.
Mistake two: ignoring startup surge. A refrigerator, pump, or power tool may need a brief burst above its running wattage. Compare both figures with the station’s continuous and peak ratings.
Mistake three: using a heater as the main backup plan. At 1,500 W, a heater can consume a 1,024 Wh station’s usable energy in about half an hour. A heated blanket, warm clothing, and targeted lighting use far less power.
Mistake four: assuming every USB-C port behaves the same. Output ratings differ. Match the charger and device requirements, especially for laptops and high-power accessories.
Mistake five: forgetting idle draw. Leaving the inverter on with nothing connected still consumes energy. Turn off AC output when you only need USB or DC power. Finally, do not run loads near the station’s limit without checking ventilation and manufacturer guidance. For a complete emergency setup, use our hurricane and blackout checklist.
Final recommendation: buy for the load, not the label
For most households, the BLUETTI AC180 is the best overall 1,000 Wh-class choice. Its 1,152 Wh capacity, 1,800 W output, UPS capability, fast charging, solar input, and Excellent value cover the widest range of blackout and camping scenarios.
Choose the Anker SOLIX C1000 if quick recharge, long stated cycle life, and a 4.7 out of 5 Amazon rating matter most. Choose the BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 when compact transport and 11 ports are priorities. Choose the OUPES Mega 1 for the highest continuous output among these candidates. The EcoFlow Delta 3 is the best fit for buyers who may expand toward 5kWh, while the Delta 3 Classic delivers Excellent value in a simpler package.
The runtime formula remains the same: capacity multiplied by 0.85, divided by watts. A 1,000 Wh station can run low-power essentials for many hours, but high-heat appliances for minutes. If you need several days of refrigeration, heating, cooking, or whole-home backup, move up in capacity and consider a larger system. For sizing help, read our watt-hour sizing guide.
Every model mentioned, at a glance
| Value for its size | Availability | |||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BLUETTI AC180 Best overall | 8.2 | 1,152 | 1,800 | Yes | See listing | 500 | See listing | 4.51,900 ratings | Excellent value | Check price on Amazon |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 | 6.2 | 1,056 | See listing | Not stated | See listing | 600 | See listing | 4.72,100 ratings | Good value | Check price on Amazon |
| BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 Best for camping | 6.6 | 1,024 | 1,800 | Not stated | See listing | 1000 | 25 | 4.51,800 ratings | Good value | Check price on Amazon |
| OUPES Mega 1 | 5.8 | 1,024 | 2,000 | Not stated | 3500 | See listing | 27.8 | 4.51,500 ratings | Fair value | Check price on Amazon |
| EcoFlow Delta 3 Best for RV | 5.4 | 1,024 | 1,800 | Not stated | 4000 | 500 | See listing | 4.71,300 ratings | Premium price | Check price on Amazon |
| EcoFlow Delta 3 Classic | 7.5 | 1,024 | 1,800 | Not stated | See listing | See listing | See listing | 4.71,300 ratings | Excellent value | Check price on Amazon |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 | 5.9 | 1,024 | See listing | Yes | 4000 | See listing | 25 | 4.73,700 ratings | Premium price | Check price on Amazon |
| DJI Power 1000 V2 | 5.9 | 1,024 | See listing | Yes | See listing | See listing | See listing | 4.31,200 ratings | Good value | Check price on Amazon |
Specifications as stated in the Amazon listing. Missing details: see listing. Scores use specifications and buyer ratings. How we rank.
Frequently asked questions
How long will a 1,000Wh power station run a refrigerator?
At a hypothetical 70W average draw, a 1,024Wh station provides about 12.4 hours using the 85% runtime rule. Refrigerators cycle rather than draw their rated wattage continuously, but compressor startup can require extra surge power. Measure or check the refrigerator’s running and starting requirements before relying on it during an outage.
Can a 1,000Wh power station run a CPAP all night?
Yes, in many setups. At an estimated 40W draw, a 1,024Wh station provides about 21.8 hours under the 85% calculation. Heated humidification can increase consumption significantly. A compatible DC connection may improve efficiency compared with AC power, but verify cable and voltage compatibility before use.
Can it run a space heater?
A station with enough continuous output can run a 1,500W space heater, but only briefly. A 1,024Wh battery provides roughly 33 minutes at that load using the 85% rule. That makes a 1,000Wh station poorly suited to heating a room. Use lower-power comfort options when possible and reserve the battery for essential electronics.
What can I run during a blackout?
A 1,000Wh station can support combinations such as a router, LED lighting, phone chargers, laptop, CPAP, and some refrigerator use. Runtime depends on the combined wattage. Keep the inverter off when using only USB or DC devices, avoid unnecessary loads, and check startup surge requirements for refrigerators, pumps, and tools.
Is 1,000Wh enough for camping?
For weekend camping, it can be an excellent size. It can cover phones, lights, laptops, cameras, a small refrigerator, and occasional cooking equipment. High-wattage appliances consume the battery quickly. For van builds or extended off-grid stays, plan your daily watt-hour use and include a recharge method such as AC, vehicle, or compatible solar charging.
Which 1,000Wh power station is best?
The BLUETTI AC180 is the strongest overall recommendation here because it combines 1,152Wh, 1,800W output, UPS capability, rapid charging, solar input, and Excellent value. The Anker SOLIX C1000 is a strong fast-charging alternative, while the OUPES Mega 1 suits buyers who need 2,000W continuous output.





